Crock Pot Rotisserie Style Chicken

I decided to make this recipe because I kept finding myself passing over certain recipes that called for pre-cooked shredded chicken.  I decided I had had enough and there is no reason I can’t make shredded chicken myself.  I found this recipe through Pinterest and altered it towards my needs.  I decided to cook a whole fryer chicken because it seemed like the cheapest route, as well as the best way to make flavorful chicken.

What you’ll need:

– 1 whole fryer chicken

– Garlic or garlic powder

– paprika

– S&P

– Poultry seasoning

– Onion powder

Start by mashing your garlic and mixing your seasonings in a bowl to make a paste to coat your chicken with.  Using water or olive oil to create the paste.  You can really do whatever you want with the paste.  I added some lemon juice as well.  I also stuck my lemons and rosemary inside my chicken for extra flavor, but that’s just because I had those lying around my kitchen.  The ingredients I listed above are the basics you need to flavor your chicken.  Anything else besides that is just icing on the cake (chicken).

Next, after massaging your chicken with the pasty goodness, plop it in the crock pot.  Also, make sure you buy a chicken that will fit into your crock pot.  I cut it pretty close, and I had gotten the smallest chicken I could.  I also left my chicken in the crock pot overnight in the fridge to let it marinate and so that it would be easier to start in the morning.

As you can see in the above picture I added some red onions and carrots for added flavor. At this point all you have to do is turn your crock pot on and let it do it’s thing.  I had to start mine really early in the morning so I put it on low and it probably cooked for about 8 hours.  if you want a faster cook time, set it to high for 3-4 hours, or until the thickest part of the breast reaches 165 degrees.

After its cooked take it out and start shredding.  Mine fell apart with a problem.

I then divided my chicken into three different freezer bags so that they were already proportioned for meals.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Crock Pot Rotisserie Style Chicken

  1. Pingback: Don’t Just Re-heat. Re-purpose those leftovers. L/O Corn bread casserole and L/O Mac n’ Chili Goulash | The Real Housewife of Saint Paul

Leave a Reply

