Extra thick, extra yummy chili with super simple corn bread. A Sunday night winner dinner.

Usually by the beginning of september I am itching for cool fall weather, but that doesnt actualy happen until late September.  Now that I live in Arizona rather then Minnesota it definitely won’t be happening until atleast…late October? If I’m lucky? Either way fall is my favorite season.  The cool weather, the warm hearty food, sweaters, boots, scarves, ect…you get the point.  Anyway, feeling rather fall-ish I decided the perfect Sunday night meal would be some extra hearty chili along side some home made corn bread.  Now usually I buy the chili beans which are just kidney beans that have extra seasoning in them.  I decided I wanted to do everything myself, besides making my own beans (I’ll get there…someday).  Chili flavors are a lot easier and simple then I thought.  It’s pretty much just garlic, onion, cumin, and chili powder.  You can also add worcestershire sauce, hot sauce, bbq sauce, whatever you like to add flavor.  I stuck to a really basic chili recipe.  I also searched for the perfect corn bread recipe.  Here is what I came up with…

For the Chili…

I wanted it to be really thick so I made sure to drain as much liquid out of the tomatoes as possible, as well as rinse the beans.  I was also trying to make a small batch, just for myself and Colin.  So, if you’re cooking for more people, just add more beans, tomatoes, and beef as you see fit.  I also like to use ground turkey to make a little healthier chili.  Here’s my approximate recipe.

You’ll need…

– 1 can kidney beans

– 1 can black beans

– 2 cans petite diced tomatoes. (I used one that had chopped green chiles which added some awesome flavor)

– 1/2 plb ground 93/7 lean beef

– 1 small white onion, chopped

– 1 can tomato paste

– S&P, garlic powder, onion powder, ground cumin, chili powder

Start by browning your ground beef with the chopped up onion.  Salt and pepper. Drain and dump your tomatoes into your crock pot or regular pot.  Rinse and dump your beans into your pot.  Then add your beef and onion mixture.  Then liberally season with your garlic powder, onion powder, ground cumin, and chili powder, S&P.  I let that mixture cook down for a while before I added my tomato paste, just so that I could see how thick my chili was already.  I ended up adding the entire can of paste.  I also had a can of tomato sauce, but didn’t end up adding it because the paste created the perfect consistency for me.  After that the chili is pretty much done, you just need to let it simmer to let all the flavors meld.
For the corn bread…

You’ll need

– 1 cup flour

– 3/4 cup corn meal

– 1 tsp baking powder

– 1 tsp salt

– 1/2 tsp pepper

– 2 eggs

– 1 cup milk

– 2 tbsp melted butter

Mix the flour, corn meal, baking powder and salt in large bowl.  Then mix the wet ingredients in a small bowl.  Once the wet ingredients are mixed add to the dry ingredients, mix, and pour into a greased baking dish.  Bake at 400 degrees for about 20 minutes.

2 thoughts on “Extra thick, extra yummy chili with super simple corn bread. A Sunday night winner dinner.

  1. Pingback: Don’t Just Re-heat. Re-purpose those leftovers. L/O Corn bread casserole and L/O Mac n’ Chili Goulash | The Real Housewife of Saint Paul

Leave a Reply

