The BEST crock pot taco recipe eva

       

Living on my own again with a new-found passion and love for good food, I have a great deal of respect for the magical things that can happen in a crock pot.  I found this recipe and swear by it.  It is a no-fail, and I would say pretty healthy (depending on the amount of dairy you use) recipe.  It is super duper easy…here we go.

Step 1: Bust out your crock pot

Step 2: Put in as much chicken you want to use. I usually use two to three chicken breasts depending on their size and it makes a TON of food. I have also put the chicken in thawed out and frozen, and both work great.

Step 3: Add… Salsa (enough to cover the chicken), 1 can of corn, 1 -2 cans of black beans (again depending on how much chicken you use), and either cream cheese, sour cream, or if you’re being healthy neither or maybe some plain greek yogurt.  I like having the creamy element so I always add something.  I also add a few shakes of some type of hot sauce of taco seasoning to give it a little something extra.

Step 4: Turn your crock pot on and let it do it’s thang. High for 3-4 hours or low for 5-8 (depending on how fast you need it to cook) Again, I have done both and both work.  This is a very fail-safe recipe.

Step 5: After chicken is cooked and you’re ready to eat take out the chicken breasts and shred the chicken, then put back in the crock pot.

Step 6: Enjoy! I like to make cilantro lime rice and make a burrito bowl, wrap it up in a tortilla, or just eat it plain. It is so good!

 

 

Leave a Reply

